Search

Search our website

Members
Sign In

HELPING WRITERS REALISE THEIR
CREATIVE AND PROFESSIONAL DREAMS

Latest Articles

October 11th, 2021 | Blog, Latest

Last year we began a series of blog posts highlighting new book releases from the Writers SA member community. The response was so positive that we’ve decided to expand our monthly posts to include writing successes of all kinds, from new book releases to prizes, fellowships and residencies to other […]

Go to article

September 29th, 2021 | Blog, Latest, News, Regional, Residencies, Writer in Residence, Writer in Residence, Writers SA news

  Award-winning poet and author, Kami McInnes will be travelling to the South East of South Australia this October as Writers SA’s latest Writer in Residence. McInnes will be visiting several towns in the region to connect with readers and writers through readings, events, workshops at libraries and community centres, […]

Go to article

September 17th, 2021 | Blog, Insights, Latest, News, Regional, Writers SA news

Our new regional team members recently had the opportunity to attend Artlands, the National Regional Arts Conference, at the South Australian hub at Fabrik in Lobethal. We asked each of the team to share a little reflection on their experience of the conference. Kathy Parker Artlands 2021 brought together a […]

Go to article

September 14th, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival has created an online program – BAD September International – of international bestselling crime authors zooming in every Wednesday evening from 8 September to talk about their new crime releases with the BAD team. The line-up features Girl on the Train author Paula Hawkins (UK), […]

Go to article

August 31st, 2021 | Blog, Latest, News, Regional, Residencies, Writer in Residence, Writer in Residence, Writers SA news

We are excited to announce two new Writers and Readers in Residence for September 2021: Rachael Mead and Tracy Crisp! Adelaide author of The Application of Pressure Rachael Mead will be travelling to Kangaroo Island, where she will be based in Kingscote from the 1st to the 15th September. If […]

Go to article

August 31st, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Looking for a new read? Believe in Me by Lucy Neave is a moving novel about family, freedom and knowing who you are, and part of the novel is set in Adelaide. Perfect for fans of Ann Patchett, Joan London and Gail Jones. As a teenager in the 1970s, Sarah […]

Go to article

July 30th, 2021 | Blog, Latest

Join Writers SA and the State Library of South Australia for a showcase of some of Adelaide’s brightest poets. Featuring Natalie Harkin, Peter Goldsworthy, Louise Nicholas, Em Konig, Alison Flett, Bior Aguer Kuir, Stevie Zhao, Caroline Reid, Dominic Guerrera, and host Manal Younus. Presented as part of Poetry Month in partnership with […]

Go to article

July 30th, 2021 | Blog, Latest, News | Tags:

Writers SA is expanding our operations into the regions! Our project No Limits: Young Regional Writers supports literary activities in regional communities and creates industry pathways for young regional writers, from skills to publication. The project supports coordinators in three regional SA locations (Riverland, Eyre Peninsula and Limestone Coast), employs […]

Go to article

July 14th, 2021 | Blog, Latest, Promotion, Social media

Do you have a burning question on social media, your author brand, websites, or online marketing for writers? We are delighted to have a very special guest joining us for a Facebook live Q+A… Kate Larsen! Ahead of her upcoming session on building your author brand, she will spend an […]

Go to article

June 16th, 2021 | Blog, Latest

From literary networking to craft workshops, we have a range of free and low-priced events in our winter program to get you inspired, engaged and writing. June 23 Think Tank (in person) Get together with other writers in this fast-paced hour of creative construction. Free. June 28 Literary Drinks at […]

Go to article

June 2nd, 2021 | Blog, Latest

Do the technical aspects of writing make you yawn? Adverbs and dangling modifiers and active versus passive got you befuddled? Can’t get through a how-to book before falling asleep and drooling on the pages? Writing rules? Pfft, who needs those? You do. We all do. Sometimes knowing those technical aspects […]

Go to article

May 20th, 2021 | Blog, Latest

We’ve rounded up a selection of inspiring Australian podcasts for writers, whether you’re looking for inspiration, to hone your craft, find a new read, or keep yourself entertained as you cook/clean/commute/relax. Happy literary listening! If you want to explore the creative possibilities of podcasting for your own stories, our introductory […]

Go to article

May 13th, 2021 | Blog, Latest, Regional, Writers SA news

Author Danielle Clode has hit the road and is touring the Far North of SA as part of our Writers and Readers in Residence Project, which sees South Australian writers undertake an artistic residency in regional communities to meet locals and activate reading and writing in the area. Danielle will be […]

Go to article

May 11th, 2021 | Blog, Latest

Zoe Lewis is a Library Youth Collections Officer who has been working in South Australian libraries for over two decades. In her role at Adelaide Hills Council, she selects, purchases, and curates library materials for young people. We talked to Zoe about her job, what she looks for in choosing library […]

Go to article

April 27th, 2021 | Blog, Latest

With South Australia’s History Festival running this May, the Writers SA team picked a few historical novels to take you back in time. Bronwyn Tilley, Program Coordinator: Year of Wonders (yeah, a plague book!) by Geraldine Brooks Tales of The Otori series by Lian Hearn Chance Sisters series by Anne […]

Go to article