Search

Search our website

Members
Sign In

HELPING WRITERS REALISE THEIR
CREATIVE AND PROFESSIONAL DREAMS

Competitions Articles

June 14th, 2022 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

We have double passes to see Lost Illusions up for grabs! A big hit at the recent AF French Film Festival, Benjamin Voisin and Cécile de France lead an all-star cast in the spectacular and exhilarating new film by Xavier Giannoli (‘The Singer’, ‘Marguerite’), an adaptation of Balzac’s classic novel […]

Go to article

May 3rd, 2022 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

We have a copy of Losing Face (UQP) by George Haddad up for grabs! Joey is young, indifferent. He’s drifting around Western Sydney unaware that his passivity is leading him astray. And then one day he is involved in a violent crime, one that threatens to upend his life entirely. […]

Go to article

April 12th, 2022 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

We have a copy of True Friends (UQP) up for grabs! In True Friends, acclaimed author Patti Miller recounts the joyful making and then painful ending of a long, close friendship. It is a deep and influential relationship in her life, but when it inexplicably unravels, Patti is left searching […]

Go to article

March 29th, 2022 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

We have a copy of The Sorrow Stone (UQP) up for grabs! From author Kári Gíslason comes an epic novel that reimagines the fate of one of Iceland’s famous women of history. Dramatic and urgent in its telling, The Sorrow Stone celebrates one woman’s quest, against the breathtaking backdrop of […]

Go to article

March 15th, 2022 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

We have a double pass to see SIARAD up for grabs, plus a copy of the book! In collaboration with Adelaide Fringe and Arts South Australia, we’re excited to present performances of Caroline Reid’s SIARAD as part of Mount Gambier Fringe. SIARAD (a welsh word meaning “to speak”) is the […]

Go to article

March 8th, 2022 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

We have ten double passes to see Book of Love up for grabs! BOOK OF LOVE follows Henry (Sam Claflin) an uptight English writer whose novel is a total failure. One bright spot is that the book is hit in Mexico but when he is invited to the country to […]

Go to article

February 22nd, 2022 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

We have ten double passes to see Miss Marx up for grabs! MISS MARX is a new biopic about the bright, passionate and free Eleanor Marx (played by Bafta and Golden Globe nominated performer Romola Garai, Suffragette, Atonement), the youngest daughter of socialist revolutionary Karl Marx. Among the first women […]

Go to article

February 3rd, 2022 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

For short story fans, we have a copy of 2020 QLA Glendower winner Fiona Robertson’s debut collection, If You’re Happy (UQP) to give away. The stories in this impressive, thoughtful collection explore the human heart and its desire and capacity for joy in a turbulent world. A divorced woman discovers […]

Go to article

November 24th, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Festivals, Latest

We’re pleased to announce the winners of the Writers SA Feast Short Story Competition for 2021! The competition entries spanned a range of subjects and genres from dystopian sci-fi to stream-of-consciousness, with an open theme. All finalists were wonderfully written – congratulations to the winners and the highly commended entries! […]

Go to article

November 16th, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Looking for a new read? Thanks to our friends at Aboriginal Studies Press, we have a copy of Nomad Girl by Kanakiya Myra Ah Chee to give away! Nomad Girl is Kanakiya Myra Ah Chee’s life story told in her own warm easygoing voice. It is the story of a single father and his children’s […]

Go to article

September 14th, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival has created an online program – BAD September International – of international bestselling crime authors zooming in every Wednesday evening from 8 September to talk about their new crime releases with the BAD team. The line-up features Girl on the Train author Paula Hawkins (UK), […]

Go to article

August 31st, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Looking for a new read? Believe in Me by Lucy Neave is a moving novel about family, freedom and knowing who you are, and part of the novel is set in Adelaide. Perfect for fans of Ann Patchett, Joan London and Gail Jones. As a teenager in the 1970s, Sarah […]

Go to article

January 19th, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Penguin Bloom tells the true story of Sam Bloom (Academy Award® nominated Naomi Watts) a young mother whose world is turned upside down after a near-fatal accident leaves her unable to walk. Releasing to Australian and New Zealand cinemas on January 21, the film is based on the award-winning photography […]

Go to article

December 8th, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

The much-anticipated new film by writer/director Philippe Falardeau (‘Monsieur Lazhar’), MY SALINGER YEAR unites three-time Oscar®-nominee Sigourney Weaver and new talent Margaret Qualley (‘Once Upon A Time… in Hollywood’) for a hugely enjoyable adaptation of Joanna Rakoff’s internationally bestselling memoir, about a young graduate’s experiences at an old-fashioned New York literary agency in […]

Go to article

December 1st, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

A month after receiving a fatal diagnosis in January 2015, Oliver Sacks sat down for a series of filmed interviews in his apartment in New York City. OLIVER SACKS: HIS OWN LIFE explores the life and work of the legendary neurologist and storyteller, as he shares intimate details of his […]

Go to article