Search

Search our website

Members
Sign In

HELPING WRITERS REALISE THEIR
CREATIVE AND PROFESSIONAL DREAMS

Competitions Articles

September 14th, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival has created an online program – BAD September International – of international bestselling crime authors zooming in every Wednesday evening from 8 September to talk about their new crime releases with the BAD team. The line-up features Girl on the Train author Paula Hawkins (UK), […]

Go to article

August 31st, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Looking for a new read? Believe in Me by Lucy Neave is a moving novel about family, freedom and knowing who you are, and part of the novel is set in Adelaide. Perfect for fans of Ann Patchett, Joan London and Gail Jones. As a teenager in the 1970s, Sarah […]

Go to article

January 19th, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Penguin Bloom tells the true story of Sam Bloom (Academy Award® nominated Naomi Watts) a young mother whose world is turned upside down after a near-fatal accident leaves her unable to walk. Releasing to Australian and New Zealand cinemas on January 21, the film is based on the award-winning photography […]

Go to article

December 8th, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

The much-anticipated new film by writer/director Philippe Falardeau (‘Monsieur Lazhar’), MY SALINGER YEAR unites three-time Oscar®-nominee Sigourney Weaver and new talent Margaret Qualley (‘Once Upon A Time… in Hollywood’) for a hugely enjoyable adaptation of Joanna Rakoff’s internationally bestselling memoir, about a young graduate’s experiences at an old-fashioned New York literary agency in […]

Go to article

December 1st, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

A month after receiving a fatal diagnosis in January 2015, Oliver Sacks sat down for a series of filmed interviews in his apartment in New York City. OLIVER SACKS: HIS OWN LIFE explores the life and work of the legendary neurologist and storyteller, as he shares intimate details of his […]

Go to article

October 28th, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

The Feminist Writers Festival is back for 2020, featuring an amazing line-up of speakers, writers, and thinkers! FWF2020 takes a deep dive into Australia’s culture of violence, the politics of health, intersections of the law, ecofeminism and a whole lot more. The festival will take place online on Saturday 14 […]

Go to article

October 20th, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

In remote Western Australia, two estranged brothers, Colin (Sam Neil) and Les (Michael Caton), are at war. Raising separate flocks of sheep descended from their family’s prized bloodline, the two men work side by side yet are worlds apart. When Les’s prize ram is diagnosed with a rare and lethal […]

Go to article

September 29th, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Did you know that the word salary comes from the Latin sal for ‘salt’, since part of the payment to Roman soldiers was in salt? That braces and suspenders used to refer to different items of clothing? Or that trolls have migrated from fairytales to online discussion forums? The English […]

Go to article

September 22nd, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Based on the beloved book by Frances Hodgson Burnett, THE SECRET GARDEN tells the story of Mary Lennox (Dixie Egerickx), a prickly and unloved 10-year-old girl, born in India to wealthy British parents. When they die suddenly, she is sent back to England to live with her uncle, Archibald Craven […]

Go to article

September 1st, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

  A big hit at the recent Alliance Française French Film Festival, THE TRANSLATORS (M) comes to Adelaide cinemas this month. Written and directed by Régis Roinsard (‘Populaire’), this ingenious and wickedly entertaining whodunit is an Agatha Christie-style mystery in the vein of  ‘Knives Out’ centring on nine international language […]

Go to article

June 30th, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, News

Cinemas are slowly re-opening with new health and safety measures in place and to celebrate, we have five double passes to The Booksellers to give away, thanks to our pals at Palace Nova Cinemas! Antiquarian booksellers are part scholar, part detective and part businessperson, and they also play an underappreciated […]

Go to article

March 10th, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Ahead of our upcoming Writing for the Education Market workshop, we have an educational giveaway! Thanks to our friends at Allen & Unwin, we have a copy of Teaching Writing, edited by Tessa Daffern and Noella Mackenzie, up for grabs. An invaluable resource for primary, secondary and pre-service teachers, Teaching […]

Go to article

February 19th, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

*This giveaway is now closed* We’ve rounded up some our favourite literary-themed shows and we’re Fringe-ready – and we want you to join in the fun. We have two double-passes to giveaway to Being Dead (Don Quixote). After touring Midsumma Festival in Melbourne, Mardi Gras in Sydney and Fringe World […]

Go to article

January 28th, 2020 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

The pleasures of a good detective story are hard to beat – and we’re delighted to see author Kerry Greenwood’s best-selling Phryne Fisher mystery series take the leap from TV to the silver screen. Thanks to our pals at Roadshow, we have five double passes to Miss Fisher and the […]

Go to article

December 17th, 2019 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Summer’s pleasures include hiding away in the blissful chill and hush of a movie theatre – thanks to our pals at Palace Films, we have double passes to bookish dramedy The Truth to give away! After the global success of the Cannes Palme d’Or-winning Shoplifters, master auteur Hirokazu Kore-eda’s wry […]

Go to article