Search

Search our website

Members
Sign In

HELPING WRITERS REALISE THEIR
CREATIVE AND PROFESSIONAL DREAMS

Blog Articles

October 11th, 2021 | Blog, Latest

Last year we began a series of blog posts highlighting new book releases from the Writers SA member community. The response was so positive that we’ve decided to expand our monthly posts to include writing successes of all kinds, from new book releases to prizes, fellowships and residencies to other […]

Go to article

September 29th, 2021 | Blog, Latest, News, Regional, Residencies, Writer in Residence, Writer in Residence, Writers SA news

  Award-winning poet and author, Kami McInnes will be travelling to the South East of South Australia this October as Writers SA’s latest Writer in Residence. McInnes will be visiting several towns in the region to connect with readers and writers through readings, events, workshops at libraries and community centres, […]

Go to article

September 28th, 2021 | Blog | Tags:

Writers SA and Adelaide’s queer arts and culture community festival, Feast, present the 2021 Feast Short Story Competition, to celebrate the creative work of queer writers in South Australia. Entries are free, and open to short story submissions of 1,000 to 3,000 words on any theme and in any genre […]

Go to article

September 17th, 2021 | Blog, Insights, Latest, News, Regional, Writers SA news

Our new regional team members recently had the opportunity to attend Artlands, the National Regional Arts Conference, at the South Australian hub at Fabrik in Lobethal. We asked each of the team to share a little reflection on their experience of the conference. Kathy Parker Artlands 2021 brought together a […]

Go to article

September 14th, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival has created an online program – BAD September International – of international bestselling crime authors zooming in every Wednesday evening from 8 September to talk about their new crime releases with the BAD team. The line-up features Girl on the Train author Paula Hawkins (UK), […]

Go to article

August 31st, 2021 | Blog, Latest, News, Regional, Residencies, Writer in Residence, Writer in Residence, Writers SA news

We are excited to announce two new Writers and Readers in Residence for September 2021: Rachael Mead and Tracy Crisp! Adelaide author of The Application of Pressure Rachael Mead will be travelling to Kangaroo Island, where she will be based in Kingscote from the 1st to the 15th September. If […]

Go to article

August 31st, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Looking for a new read? Believe in Me by Lucy Neave is a moving novel about family, freedom and knowing who you are, and part of the novel is set in Adelaide. Perfect for fans of Ann Patchett, Joan London and Gail Jones. As a teenager in the 1970s, Sarah […]

Go to article

July 30th, 2021 | Blog, Latest

Join Writers SA and the State Library of South Australia for a showcase of some of Adelaide’s brightest poets. Featuring Natalie Harkin, Peter Goldsworthy, Louise Nicholas, Em Konig, Alison Flett, Bior Aguer Kuir, Stevie Zhao, Caroline Reid, Dominic Guerrera, and host Manal Younus. Presented as part of Poetry Month in partnership with […]

Go to article

July 30th, 2021 | Blog, Latest, News | Tags:

Writers SA is expanding our operations into the regions! Our project No Limits: Young Regional Writers supports literary activities in regional communities and creates industry pathways for young regional writers, from skills to publication. The project supports coordinators in three regional SA locations (Riverland, Eyre Peninsula and Limestone Coast), employs […]

Go to article

July 14th, 2021 | Blog, Latest, Promotion, Social media

Do you have a burning question on social media, your author brand, websites, or online marketing for writers? We are delighted to have a very special guest joining us for a Facebook live Q+A… Kate Larsen! Ahead of her upcoming session on building your author brand, she will spend an […]

Go to article

June 28th, 2021 | Blog

Winter is the perfect time to grab some popcorn and cosy up to watch a great French movie, and we have five double-passes to give away to see Perfumes, a new movie starring Emmannuelle Devos. Anne Walberg was once the star of her industry – a perfumer whose ability to […]

Go to article

June 23rd, 2021 | Blog

  Dear members and friends, We wanted to take a moment to say a big thank you to everyone in our community—members, subscribers, workshop attendees, partners, colleagues, writers, facilitators, mentors, and alumni. We’re here because of you; supporting your literary success, our state’s literary enrichment, and a bright future for […]

Go to article

June 16th, 2021 | Blog, Latest

From literary networking to craft workshops, we have a range of free and low-priced events in our winter program to get you inspired, engaged and writing. June 23 Think Tank (in person) Get together with other writers in this fast-paced hour of creative construction. Free. June 28 Literary Drinks at […]

Go to article

June 14th, 2021 | Blog | Tags:

A great pitch can sell a novel. It makes your writing stand out before the publisher has read the first word, getting them excited about your project. When writers talk about pitching, it usually means a verbal, one-on-one with a publisher or agent where your book may then be requested, […]

Go to article

June 2nd, 2021 | Blog, Latest

Do the technical aspects of writing make you yawn? Adverbs and dangling modifiers and active versus passive got you befuddled? Can’t get through a how-to book before falling asleep and drooling on the pages? Writing rules? Pfft, who needs those? You do. We all do. Sometimes knowing those technical aspects […]

Go to article