Search

Search our website

Members
Sign In

HELPING WRITERS REALISE THEIR
CREATIVE AND PROFESSIONAL DREAMS

Blog Articles

December 16th, 2021 | Blog

As 2021 comes to a close, I’m taking a moment to reflect on another big and inspiring year at Writers SA. Adelaide Writers Week We opened the year at Adelaide Writers Week, where we presented – alongside a suite of author masterclasses – two incredible performances. First Words was an all-star poetry […]

Go to article

December 14th, 2021 | Blog | Tags:

We are delighted to announce the selected writers for our No Limits commission This Breath. This Breath is a creative response to a moment in time – this moment in time –  by young people living in regional South Australia. An opportunity to reflect and to capture what has been […]

Go to article

November 24th, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Festivals, Latest

We’re pleased to announce the winners of the Writers SA Feast Short Story Competition for 2021! The competition entries spanned a range of subjects and genres from dystopian sci-fi to stream-of-consciousness, with an open theme. All finalists were wonderfully written – congratulations to the winners and the highly commended entries! […]

Go to article

November 24th, 2021 | Blog, Emerging writers, Opportunities, Regional, Seeking Submissions | Tags:

Through the No Limits Program, Writers SA is calling regional storytellers from the Limestone Coast aged 12-29 to express interest in a new commission. Selected writers will be paid to respond to their experience of living in the Limestone Coast in 500-1000 words of their choosing — the challenges and […]

Go to article

November 16th, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Looking for a new read? Thanks to our friends at Aboriginal Studies Press, we have a copy of Nomad Girl by Kanakiya Myra Ah Chee to give away! Nomad Girl is Kanakiya Myra Ah Chee’s life story told in her own warm easygoing voice. It is the story of a single father and his children’s […]

Go to article

November 2nd, 2021 | Blog, Latest

Last year we began a series of blog posts highlighting new book releases from the Writers SA member community. The response was so positive that we’ve decided to expand our monthly posts to include writing successes of all kinds, from new book releases to prizes, fellowships and residencies to other […]

Go to article

November 2nd, 2021 | Blog, Emerging writers, Latest, News, SAWC news, Writers SA news

Writers SA and Varuna the National Writers’ House are delighted to announce the 2021 recipient of our SA First Nations Writers Fellowship is Karen Wyld. Karen will be spending a week in the Blue Mountains, writing and developing her craft, with seven nights at Varuna, a $300 travel subsidy, and […]

Go to article

October 20th, 2021 | Blog | Tags:

Through the No Limits Program, Writers SA is calling all regional storytellers aged 12-29 to express interest in a new commission. Selected writers will be paid to write a short piece in any form of their choosing (poetry, song, comic page, short story, diary entry etc) responding to the last […]

Go to article

October 19th, 2021 | Blog, Latest, Perfecting the craft, Tips

Writers never stop developing their craft, but if you’re a new or aspiring writer, the Writers SA team have shared a few tips and techniques to help you along the way: Write even when you’re not feeling itNora Roberts famously said, ‘You can’t edit a blank page’ and for some […]

Go to article

September 29th, 2021 | Blog, Latest, News, Regional, Residencies, Writer in Residence, Writer in Residence, Writers SA news

  Award-winning poet and author, Kami McInnes will be travelling to the South East of South Australia this October as Writers SA’s latest Writer in Residence. McInnes will be visiting several towns in the region to connect with readers and writers through readings, events, workshops at libraries and community centres, […]

Go to article

September 28th, 2021 | Blog | Tags:

Writers SA and Adelaide’s queer arts and culture community festival, Feast, present the 2021 Feast Short Story Competition, to celebrate the creative work of queer writers in South Australia. Entries are free, and open to short story submissions of 1,000 to 3,000 words on any theme and in any genre […]

Go to article

September 17th, 2021 | Blog, Insights, Latest, Regional, Writers SA news | Tags:

Our new regional team members recently had the opportunity to attend Artlands, the National Regional Arts Conference, at the South Australian hub at Fabrik in Lobethal. We asked each of the team to share a little reflection on their experience of the conference. Kathy Parker Artlands 2021 brought together a […]

Go to article

September 14th, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival has created an online program – BAD September International – of international bestselling crime authors zooming in every Wednesday evening from 8 September to talk about their new crime releases with the BAD team. The line-up features Girl on the Train author Paula Hawkins (UK), […]

Go to article

August 31st, 2021 | Blog, Latest, News, Regional, Residencies, Writer in Residence, Writer in Residence, Writers SA news

We are excited to announce two new Writers and Readers in Residence for September 2021: Rachael Mead and Tracy Crisp! Adelaide author of The Application of Pressure Rachael Mead will be travelling to Kangaroo Island, where she will be based in Kingscote from the 1st to the 15th September. If […]

Go to article

August 31st, 2021 | Blog, Competitions, Latest

Looking for a new read? Believe in Me by Lucy Neave is a moving novel about family, freedom and knowing who you are, and part of the novel is set in Adelaide. Perfect for fans of Ann Patchett, Joan London and Gail Jones. As a teenager in the 1970s, Sarah […]

Go to article