Announcing the winners of the 2021 Writers SA Varuna fellowships

Writers SA and Varuna the National Writers’ House are delighted to announce the 2021 recipient of our SA First Nations Writers Fellowship is Karen Wyld.

Karen will be spending a week in the Blue Mountains, writing and developing her craft, with seven nights at Varuna, a $300 travel subsidy, and an expert consultation with a Varuna writing consultant.

For the SA Emerging Writers Fellowship we received our highest number of applications ever so with the assistance of Varuna we were able to open up two residency spots instead of one. Both Bronwyn Lovell and Lara Saunders will be spending seven days at the National Writers’ House, and will both receive a travel subsidy and consultations while there.

We’d also like to award a highly commended distinction to Alex Sayer on reaching the top 3. Alex will receive an annual Writers SA membership.

Special thank you to everyone who applied in this round. It was truly an honour to be privy to the wide scope of projects our local writers are penning and we wish you all the best. Please do keep an eye on our newsletter for the next round in 2022.

Filed under:

Stay in the loop:

The latest literary news, events, opportunities, workshops, competitions and more, delivered weekly to your inbox.

Major Supporters