Asher Literary Award Shortlist

The ASA is delighted to announce the shortlist for this year’s Asher Award.

The ASA received 47 eligible applications from a range of genres, including children’s literature and performance writing. Assessors Tegan Bennett Daylight, Anthony Birch and Charlotte Wood noted that the quality and diversity of submissions made selecting a winner extremely difficult.

The following titles have been shortlisted:

Broken Nation by Joan Beaumont (Allen & Unwin 2013)
Warrior by Libby Connors (Allen & Unwin 2015)
ANZAC: The Unauthorised Biography by Carolyn Holbrook (New South Publishing 2014)
The Golden Age by Joan London (Vintage 2014)
Holiday in Cambodia by Laura Jean McKay (Black Inc 2013)
My Gallipoli by Ruth Starke and Robert Hannaford (Working Title Press 2015)

The winner will be announced by Jill Eddington, Director Literature, Australia Council for the Arts at an ASA event at Suite C1.05, 22-36 Mountain Street, Ultimo on Tuesday 8 December 2015, 6-8pm.

The Asher Literary Award is offered biennially to a female author whose work carries an anti-war theme. Valued at $12,000, the Award was managed this year by the ASA, on behalf of the Australia Council for the Arts. The Award was made possible by a bequest from author Helen Waltraud Rosalie Asher, a post-WWII refugee from Germany.

For more information about the Asher Literary Award please see the ASA website.

The Asher Literary has been assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council for the Arts, its arts funding and advisory body.

Stay in the loop:

The latest literary news, events, opportunities, workshops, competitions and more, delivered weekly to your inbox.

Major Supporters