Queensland Literary Awards

The 2019 awards are open and offer a total prize pool of $253,500. There are ten national prizes for outstanding books by Australian writers, illustrators and creators. This includes the $25,000 Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of State Significance which highlights a uniquely Queensland story.

Nominations close 31 May 2019. $10 Early Bird discount available for nominations received in April. Some fee-exemptions also apply.  

There are two unpublished manuscripts awards – the Glendower Award for an Emerging Queensland Writer and the David Unaipon Award for an Emerging Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Writer.  Nominations close 30 June 2019 and there is no fee to apply.

There are development awards for Queensland writers – two Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards and three Queensland Writers Fellowships. Nominations close 30 June 2019 and there is no fee to apply.

Filed under:

Stay in the loop:

The latest literary news, events, opportunities, workshops, competitions and more, delivered weekly to your inbox.

Major Supporters