Kate Challis RAKA Award 2020 for best book of poetry

The 2020 Kate Challis RAKA Award is now open for applications from Indigenous poets.

RAKA, which means ‘five’ in the Pintupi language, is awarded to an Indigenous artist in one of five categories annually, including creative prose, poetry, script writing, drama and visual arts.

In 2020, the $20,000 award celebrates the best book of poetry by an Indigenous author published in the preceding five years.

The RAKA, or Ruth Adeney Koori Award, was first awarded in 1991 to help advance recognition of Aboriginal artistic achievements. The RAKA was one of the earliest prizes for Indigenous artists in Australia and is administered by the Australian Centre within the Faculty of Arts at the University of Melbourne.

See here for further information and how to enter.

Filed under:

Stay in the loop:

The latest literary news, events, opportunities, workshops, competitions and more, delivered weekly to your inbox.

Major Supporters