Search

Search our website

Members
Sign In

HELPING WRITERS REALISE THEIR
CREATIVE AND PROFESSIONAL DREAMS

SA First Nations Writers Group

The South Australian First Nations Writers Group was established to foster and develop the continuing diversity and growth of local First Nations writing in South Australia. It is coordinated by Edoardo Crismani, a descendant of the Wiradjuri people, author of poetry and short stories and working on his first novel manuscript.

In 2020, the group has welcomed guest speakers including Jared Thomas, a Nukunu person of the Southern Flinders Ranges and an international award-winning author, and Rachel Bin Salleh, a Nimunburr and Yawuru woman from the Dampier Peninsula in the Kimberley of Western Australia and Publisher at Magabala Books.

The group meets once a month from 6–8pm ACST.

Meeting dates for 2021:

  • Sunday 28 February 28 1-2pm @ ‘First Words‘ at Adelaide Writers Week presented by Writers SA

  • Wednesday 31 March 31 via Zoom

  • Wednesday 28 April in-person

  • Wednesday 24 May via Zoom

  • Wednesday 30 June in-person

  • Wednesday 28 July 28 via Zoom

  • Wednesday 25 August in-person

  • Wednesday 29 September via Zoom

  • Wednesday 27 October in-person

  • Wednesday 24 November via Zoom

  • Wednesday 15 December in-person

 

Members of the SA First Nations Writers Group receive complementary membership with Writers SA. Contact us at [email protected] to sign up.

The SA First Nations Writers Group is supported by Writers SA, with assistance from the Australia Council for the Arts and Arts South Australia.