Search our website

Sign In



Writing competitions can be a great way to get your writing out in the world. They can be a crucial stepping stone in your writing career, bringing of recognition, some money to buy writing or editing time, publication deals or the possibility of securing an agent. Check out our range of workshops to ready yourself for submission.

We recommend writers look very carefully at the competition guidelines, terms and conditions. Some require an entry fee or reading fee. In some circumstances, this goes towards payment for the judges time (we believe that all literary prize judges should be paid).

In some cases, however, ‘literary competitions’ are just money making ventures. In other cases, by entering the competition you may be automatically signing over the rights to your work (your copyright), or agreeing to a publication arrangement. It may be useful to look at the Australian Society of Authors’ best practice guidelines for literary competitions.

A number of competitions are listed here, but please note that this is NOT an endorsement. Writers are individually responsible for carefully reviewing all the terms and conditions of each competition.




HarperCollins Publishers launch The Banjo

Closing date: 25th May 2018


We’re on a quest to find the next great Australian storyteller.

HarperCollins is excited to announce the establishment of a new fiction prize, The Banjo. We’re looking for exciting new Australian voices telling the sorts of stories that we love to read – from sweeping family sagas and lush romances to dark and gritty crime, twisty psychological thrillers, rich historical dramas and contemporary romantic comedies. Keep reading…


Grieve Writing Competition

Closing date: 28th May 2018

Hunter Writers Centre

Genres: Poetry, Prose,

You know the measure of your love by the weight of your loss.

Prize pool over $8500. Open to all Australians.


The Yeovil Literary Prize

Closing date: 31st May 2018

Yeovil Community Arts Association

Genres: Fiction, Poetry, Short story,

Organised by the Yeovil Community Arts Association, this is your opportunity to enter four very different categories of writing. Aspiring writers throughout the world should enter this prestigious writing competition.

Keep reading…


The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award

Closing date: 31st May 2018

Allen and Unwin

Genres: Fiction, Major prize, Memoir, Non fiction, Novel,

Offering prize money of $20,000 plus publication by Allen & Unwin with an advance against royalties

The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award is one of Australia’s richest and the most prestigious award for an unpublished manuscript by a writer under the age of thirty-five. Keep reading…

Website |

2018 Birdcatcher Books’ Short Story Award

Closing date: 31st May 2018

Birdcatcher Books

Genres: Short story,

The 2018 Birdcatcher Books’ Short Story Award is now open for entries from Aussie and NZ writers.

First prize is $250, second $100 and third $50, with the best entries to be published in an anthology.  Keep reading…

Website |


Closing date: 1st June 2018

State Theatre Company

The State Theatre Company’s major award for the encouragement and support of new writing talent is commencing its 18th year. Flinders University Young Playwrights Award winners will receive the opportunity to have their work developed under the guidance of professionals in the industry. Keep reading…


Stuart Hadow Short Story Prize 2018

Closing date: 1st June 2018

Fellowship of Australian Writers WA

Genres: Short story,

The Stuart Hadow Prize is an annual short story competition run by the Fellowship of Australian Writers WA in honour of WA writers Lyndall Hadow and Donald Stuart. Each year, the contest attracts high-quality entries from around Australia, and in 2018 the prize pool has first prize offering $1,000 and a week’s unpaid residency at Mattie Furphy House in Swanbourne.  Keep reading…

Website |

The Moth International Short Story Prize

Closing date: 30th June 2018

The Moth Magazine

Genres: Short story,

The Moth Short Story Prize is an important date on the literary calendar. Every year, a single judge is asked to choose three winning stories, to feature in the autumn issue of The MothKeep reading…

Website |

Scribes Writers’ Poetic License competition

Closing date: 30th June 2018

Scribes Writers

Genres: Poetry,

Scribes Writers are running the “Poetic Licence” poetry competition and cash prizes will be awarded for first and second places with certificates for Highly Commended and Commended submissions. This competition is open to all, not just to members. 
Keep reading…

Website |

CHASS Australia Prizes

Closing date: 2nd July 2018

CHASS Australia

2018 will mark the fifth year of the annual CHASS Australia Prizes. The Australia Prizes honour distinguished achievements by Australians working, studying, or training in the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (HASS) sectors, including academics, researchers, practitioners, philanthropists, policy makers, and students. Keep reading…


2018 Adelaide Plains Poets Competition

Closing date: 6th July 2018

Adelaide Plains Poets


1st, 2nd & 3rd cash prizes, plus Highly Commended & Commended certificates as awarded by judge. Total prize pool over $700.  Keep reading…

Website |