Shortlists announced for 2014 NSW Premier’s History Awards

The Premier of NSW, the Honourable Mike Baird MP today [Monday 11 August] announced the shortlist for the 2014 NSW Premier’s History Awards.
Eight judges considered almost 150 entries across the five prize categories.

The Premier commented: “This year’s World War One commemorations are a time to reflect upon our nation’s involvement in the war and a reminder of the importance of the work of historians in marking and understanding our nation’s past.”

This year, the Australian Military History Prize has been introduced to commemorate the centenary of World War One. The winner will be chosen from a major published work submitted for the Australian History Prize.

Senior judge and President of the NSW History Council, Professor Richard Waterhouse, said: “The quality of the books submitted was extremely high and the judges faced a formidable task in determining the shortlist. The shortlisted books will all, in their own different ways, make significant and long lasting contributions to our understandings about the past. These books provide clear evidence that Australian historians are producing history that matches the very best international standards.”

The winners of the 2014 Awards will be announced as part of the launch of NSW History Week at a presentation and cocktail reception held at the State Library of NSW on Friday 5 September 2014.

PHA Judges’ reports_ Shortlist_1108142014 PHA_Shortlist_MR_110814 PHA Judges’ reports_ Shortlist_110814

Stay in the loop:

The latest literary news, events, opportunities, workshops, competitions and more, delivered weekly to your inbox.

Major Supporters