The Stringybark Short Story Award 2016

Stringybark Stories is pleased to announce its latest short story award.  We have a record prize pool of over $1070 in cash and book prizes, as well as publication, awarded for the best entries. The winning story will be a story of 1500 words or fewer, written for an adult (16+) audience in mind with an open theme that has some link, no matter how minor to Australia. International entries most welcome.
Closing date for entries is 5 February 2017.  Details at:

Results of the Stringybark Times Past Short Story Awards 2016
On 15 November 2016, the judges announced the winning stories in the Stringybark Times Past Short Story Awards 2016. Richard Harvie (QLD) won the award with his evocative story, Longing for Solitude.  Pamela Jeffs (QLD) came equal second with her tale, Allied Warship, Enemy Aircraft.  Eugenie Pusenjak (ACT) came equal second with her story The Long Straw. James Bond (NSW) came third with his story Sussex Street Skins 1986. The winning and highly commended entries are available as a paperback and e-book in the new anthology Longing for Solitude.

A full list of the place-winner and highly commended authors can be found on our website:


Filed under:

Stay in the loop:

The latest literary news, events, opportunities, workshops, competitions and more, delivered weekly to your inbox.

Major Supporters