Shoalhaven Literary Award – Short Stories 2017

The Shoalhaven Branch of the Fellowship of Australian Writers is excited to announce an increase in prize money for its prestigious Shoalhaven Literary Award, launched on 20 February 2017. With the ongoing and valued support of the Shoalhaven Arts Board and Bundanon Trust, this year the writer of the winning story will receive $1500, together with a two-week artist residency at Bundanon, Arthur & Yvonne Boyd’s Gift to Australia, on the Shoalhaven River near Nowra, NSW. Second prize is $250, third $150 and the Geoff Bolton Award for an entry from a Shoalhaven resident will receive $200. This year the award is for short stories and will be judged by Laurie Steed. The Patricia Hackett Prize winning author of You Belong Here, Steed lives in Perth, Western Australia. His work has been broadcast on BBC Radio 4 and published in Best Australian Stories, The Age, Meanjin, Westerly, Island, The Sleepers Almanac and elsewhere.

He teaches Advanced Fiction for Writers Victoria and is a former member of the editorial board of Margaret River Press. In 2014, he became the first Australian writer granted fellowship in the history of the Sozopol Fiction Seminars and, in May 2015, he was selected for The 2016 Bernheim Writers Residency in Kentucky, USA.

Entries will close on Saturday 27 May and winners notified after Saturday 16 September 2017.

Download an entry form from the FAW Shoalhaven website. Results, judge’s report and other information will be published on the same site from 16 September 2017.

For further information contact: [email protected]

Filed under:

Stay in the loop:

The latest literary news, events, opportunities, workshops, competitions and more, delivered weekly to your inbox.

Major Supporters