Olga Masters Short Story Competition

The Olga Masters Short Story Award is a competition celebrating the life and writings of Olga Masters (1919-1986), Australian journalist and author. Olga was born on the Far South Coast of NSW, and lived there, in Pambula then Cobargo, until the age of 18. Much of her fiction is coloured by her experiences in this region.

This year’s competition is now open. It will close at midnight on 18 August 2017. Entry is open to Australian residents. The entry fee is $20.

Stories must be about any aspect of Australian rural family life, 2000-5000 words. First prize is $1500. There is a $500 prize for the runner-up. Supplementary prizes may be offered at the discretion of the organisers.

The winning story will be published in Island magazine.

This year’s judges are:

  • Geordie Williamson, publisher of the Picador imprint
  • D’Arcy Randall, long-time editor of Olga Masters’ work
  • Craig Munro, award-winning writer, editor and publishing consultant, and Olga Masters’ first publisher in Australia.

The inaugural Award was held in conjunction with the Olga Masters Festival in Cobargo in October 2014.

All the details of the competition can be found on the web-site,  olgamastersshortstoryaward.com.au

Filed under:

Stay in the loop:

The latest literary news, events, opportunities, workshops, competitions and more, delivered weekly to your inbox.

Major Supporters