The Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize

Supported by the Malcolm Robertson Foundation, and named after the late Neilma Gantner, the Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize seeks excellent short fiction of up to 3000 words themed around the notion of ‘travel’; imaginative, creative and literary interpretations are strongly encouraged.

This competition is open to all writers, nationally and internationally, at any stage of their writing career. The winning story will receive a $5000 first prize and be published in Overland’s first print issue for 2021. Two runners-up will each receive $750 and be published at Overland online to coincide with the release of the first print issue for 2021. This year, we are excited to welcome Mirandi Riwoe, Jeanine Leane and Wayne Marshall to the judging panel.

See here for more.

Filed under:

Stay in the loop:

The latest literary news, events, opportunities, workshops, competitions and more, delivered weekly to your inbox.

Major Supporters