Nominations open on Monday 8 April for the prestigious Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award, Waverley Council’s annual celebration of the best in Australian research and writing.

The Nib awards a prize pool of $30,000 across four categories and is the only major national literary award presented by a local council.

Now in its 18th year, the Nib has distributed around $400,000 to deserving Australian authors since its inception.

The Nib recognises and celebrates quality research and writing across the country and encourages both emerging and established writers to submit works across all genres and subjects.

Entries are judged on quality research, literary merit, readability and value to the community.

The award categories include:

  • Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award- $20,000
  • Nib Military History Prize- $3000
  • Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize- six prizes of $1000 each
  • Nib People’s Choice Prize- $1000

Titles first published between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2019 are eligible for this year’s award program.

Full nomination guidelines and submission details:

Nominations close Monday 3 June 2019.

Filed under:

Stay in the loop:

The latest literary news, events, opportunities, workshops, competitions and more, delivered weekly to your inbox.

Major Supporters