The David Unaipon Award

Entries are now open for the David Unaipon Award – an award that has launched the careers of
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers such as Ellen Van Neerven, Doris Pilkington Garimara,
Tara June Winch and Samuel Wagan Watson.

The prize includes $15,000 prize money plus manuscript development and publication with UQP.
It is open to all Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander unpublished writers.

The annual award, the first of its kind, was established in 1988 by University of Queensland Press
(UQP) and honours Ngarrindjeri author David Unaipon, one of the earliest published Indigenous

The award is presented as part of the Queensland Literary Awards, the State Library of Queensland proudly manages the awards in collaboration with sponsors, industry partners and the writing community.

You can apply here.

Filed under:

Stay in the loop:

The latest literary news, events, opportunities, workshops, competitions and more, delivered weekly to your inbox.

Major Supporters